Tags

New Life in Christ:  Faith, Love, and Obedience
1 John 5:1-3
June 22, 2014

In late April/early May, 1989 I remember very distinctly walking out of a seminary classroom building, crossing the street that separated the campus from our apartment building and thinking, “I’ve taken my last exam; I’ve been taking tests in school for 21 years and I will never take another one. My test-taking days are finished.”

It was a real odd (and wonderful) thought. And was I wrong.

Oh, I’ve taken very few tests that someone has actually graded and given me a score since then (the NANC exam being one exception). But I’ve taken many tests since then. There have been tests of my character, tests of my husbanding skills, tests of my parenting skills, and tests as a pastor and preacher. My patience has been tested. And so has my physical endurance. And above all, my faith in Christ has been tested — what are the evidences of my trust in Christ?

Now unlike many other tests, the tests of our faith aren’t tests designed to make us fail, but they are designed to reveal the genuineness of our salvation. As John would say in the middle of 1 John 5 — “These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, so that you may know that you have eternal life” (v. 13).

Throughout this letter, John has been repeatedly coming back to the issues examined by these tests and in 5:1-3, he reiterates three fundamental tests that reveal the genuineness of our new life in Christ.

When one is regenerated, he will give evidence of that new life by faith, love, and obedience.

  1. The Test of Faith (v. 1a)
  • Who saves?
  • What do you believe?
  1. The Test of Love (vv. 1b-2)
  • Do you love God’s children? (v. 1b)
  • Do you love God? (v. 2)
  1. The Test of Obedience (vv. 2b-3)
  • Do you obey God’s Word? (v. 2b)
  • Do you obey God’s Word from the heart? (v. 3a)
  • Is obedience a burden? (v. 3b)

Download the rest of this sermon on 1 John 5:1-3.

The audio will be posted on the GBC website later today.