Tags

When one thinks about Psalm 119, the theme of the Word of God obviously comes to mind.  The Word of God is explained, its authority is exalted, and even God Himself is worshipped in the process of expounding the value of God’s Word.

Yet in reading a portion of the psalm this morning, it was also striking what the psalmist desired for this Word to do in him:

  • Revive me according to Your word (v. 25)
  • Teach me Your statutes (v. 26)
  • Make me understand the way of Your precepts (v. 27)
  • Strengthen me according to Your word (v. 28)
  • Remove the false way from me And graciously grant me Your law (v. 29)
  • Teach me, O LORD, the way of Your statutes (v. 33)
  • Give me understanding, that I may observe Your law (v. 34)
  • Make me walk in the path of Your commandments (v. 35)
  • Incline my heart to Your testimonies (v. 36)
  • Turn away my eyes from looking at vanity And revive me in Your ways (v. 37)
  • Establish Your word to Your servant (v. 38)
  • Turn away my reproach which I dread (v. 39)
  • Revive me through Your righteousness (v. 40)
  • And do not take the word of truth utterly out of my mouth (v. 43)
  • Remember the word to Your servant (v. 49)
  • Teach me Your statutes (v. 64)
  • Teach me good discernment and knowledge (v. 66)
  • Teach me Your statutes (v. 68)

All those desires make me ask, “what do I want the Word of God to do in me today?”