Tags

Meditating on Psalm 110 (the most-quoted OT passage by the NT — see Mt. 22:44; 26:64; Mk. 14:62; Lk. 20:42-43; 22:69; Acts 2:34-35; Heb. 1:13), Charles Spurgeon wrote of our Savior:

Give me Christ, and I have no desire for anything beyond him, for Christ is all. Whatever of good we may wish for, it is all in Christ; it is impossible for the mind that is filled with Christ to imagine anything else; and in the day when we shall get to heaven, — we talk a great deal about golden harps, and golden crowns, and golden streets, — I imagine we shall find that all those harps and crowns and streets are contained in that one word “Christ.” When we really have Christ, we feel that we have nothing else that we can wish for. He that drinketh desireth to eat, but he that drinketh Christ drinketh food. He that eats desires to be clothed, but he that feedeth on Christ is clothed at the same time. He that is clothed needeth something wherewithal to adorn himself, but he that is clothed in the righteousness of Christ is robed in the court dress of heaven, and hath all the jewels of Divinity upon him. He that is adorned yet needeth something wherewithal to wash himself and keep himself beauteous, but he that is clothed in the righteousness of Christ, and adorned with God’s grace, is washed, and is clean every whit. He that is clean needs to be kept clean; but he that has Christ shall be kept clean. Dear friends, there is nothing that a sinner can want, there is nothing that a saint can want, that is not in Christ. There are many things that we think we want that are not in him, but nothing we really need that is not in him, for “in him dwelleth all the fullness of the Godhead bodily,” and the fullness of the Godhead must be more than sufficient fullness for manhood. “It pleased the Father that in him should all fullness dwell;” and if all fullness cannot meet our wants, what can? Therefore, shall we never be weary of Christ, because every craving of the heart is satisfied in him.

…We shall never be tired of Christ, because the need that we have of Christ can never cease. While I am on earth, I shall never cease sinning; therefore I shall never cease to need the fountain filled with blood where I can wash away all my guilty stains. So long as I am here, my conscience will never leave off accusing me; therefore I shall ever need an Advocate with the Father, even Jesus Christ the righteous. While I am here, I shall never be free from trouble; therefore I shall always need him who is the Consolation of Israel. While I am here, I shall never get rid of weakness; therefore I can never bear to be without him who is my strength.While I am here, I shall never, I fear, cease from backsliding in some measure; therefore can I never cease to love him who restoreth my soul, and leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

You have heard, perhaps, the story of a party of travelers who were  crossing the desert; they had exhausted all their supply of water, and they knew not where they should find any. But, at last, after some days’ march, they came near a turbid stream of the most filthy water, and in dashed the camels, and defiled it still worse. Yet the poor travelers, who had come across the arid desert, were so thirsty that they drank what was more earth than water, and thought it sweeter than any wine they had ever tasted. But after they had satisfied their thirst, did they still think so? Did they then say the water was sweet? No; they understood then what it was they had been drinking; and after their thirst was once quenched, you could not have compelled them to drink there again until the thirst returned in all its force. But so long as the Christian is here, he will always have the pangs of hunger, he will always have all the sufferings of spiritual thirst if Christ be removed from him, and, therefore, that longing will always make Christ sweet to him. Our Lord must ever have the dew of his youth upon him, because we shall always have an appetite for him as long as we are here; or if we lose it for a little while, — for fools will abhor all manner of meat sometimes, — yet that appetite must and shall return, and we shall again fly to those living waters as with the wings of a dove, and hasten again to those cooling streams with all the speed of the panting hart that longs after the water-brook, for it must drink or die. Therefore, beloved, you see yet again that, because we shall always need Christ, therefore will he always be fresh to us.

“But,” says one, “we shall not need him in heaven.” Who told you that? Whoever told you so, has certainly misled you. Not need Christ in heaven! Why, beloved, if you could take Christ away from heaven, you would take heaven away altogether, and leave every saint in hell. They do not “want” Christ in heaven, in one sense of the word, because they have him; therefore they do not “want” him as the Scotch use the word “want.” But they still need to have Christ with them every hour, for he is the sum and substance of heaven. If I shall not need Christ to cleanse me in heaven, yet I shall want Christ to commune with him. If I shall not need his blood to wash me, yet I shall need the offering of praise wherewith to bless and honor God. If I shall not need to pray to him, I shall want to praise him. If I shall not need him to forgive me, yet I shall want him to embrace me. If I shall not need him as a Shepherd, I shall need him as a Husband, as a Priest, as a King, that I may forever serve him with joy and gladness.