Tags

This morning we finished reading Psalm 119.  One of the great themes of this Psalm is the affection, joy, and love the psalmist has for God’s Word.

I shall delight in Your statutes;
I shall not forget Your word. (v. 16)

Your testimonies also are my delight;
They are my counselors. (v. 24)

Make me walk in the path of Your commandments,
For I delight in it. (v. 35)

I shall delight in Your commandments,
Which I love. (v. 47)

And I shall lift up my hands to Your commandments,
Which I love;
And I will meditate on Your statutes. (v. 48)

Their heart is covered with fat,
But I delight in Your law. (v. 70)

May Your compassion come to me that I may live,
For Your law is my delight. (v. 77)

If Your law had not been my delight,
Then I would have perished in my affliction. (v. 92)

O how I love Your law!
It is my meditation all the day. (v. 97)

I have inherited Your testimonies forever,
For they are the joy of my heart. (v. 111)

I hate those who are double-minded,
But I love Your law. (v. 113)

You have removed all the wicked of the earth like dross;
Therefore I love Your testimonies. (v. 119)

Therefore I love Your commandments
Above gold, yes, above fine gold. (v. 127)

Your word is very pure,
Therefore Your servant loves it. (v. 140)

Trouble and anguish have come upon me,
Yet Your commandments are my delight. (v. 143)

Consider how I love Your precepts;
Revive me, O LORD, according to Your lovingkindness. (v. 159)

I rejoice at Your word,
As one who finds great spoil. (v. 162)

I hate and despise falsehood,
But I love Your law. (v. 163)

Those who love Your law have great peace,
And nothing causes them to stumble. (v. 165)

My soul keeps Your testimonies,
And I love them exceedingly. (v. 167)

I long for Your salvation, O LORD,
And Your law is my delight. (v. 174)

Do you and I love and desire the Word of God in this way?  As you begin your day of worship, use these verses to prepare your heart to hear the Word of God preached, and love it and its work in your life.